Taking Challenges.

November 3, 2010

So, what makes you go to work everyday?  The paycheck?  The habit?

What about school?  What makes you desire having more education?

For me, it’s the challenge.  The more someone tells me I can’t do something, the more I want to prove them wrong (even if I’m the one telling myself I can’t do it).

Currently, I’m not being challenged at work.  Now, it’s no fault of anyone’s in particular with the economy the way it is, but frankly, it’s annoying.

I think one of the reasons I can’t quit going to school is because there is a big challenge in managing going to school and working full-time.  It’s just not easy.

I’m not sure I even know how to do something the easy way (unless it’s something like the dishes in which I do them as quickly as possible because I hate them!).  I like to learn, I like to make things better and more efficient.

Lately it’s been more and more apparent that I’m not stepping up to the challenge plate–especially at work.  So I’m changing that.

Yesterday I attended a forum for an HR initiative that I could’ve easily sat out, but the challenge there was to get out of my box and away from my daily humdrum.

Today, I’m having a meeting with a Senior VP within the company about my thesis paper.  I’m not sure what’ll come of it, but I hope something worthwhile.  Even if it’s just  a high five!

Tomorrow, well, I’m not doing anything special (yet), but I’m going to keep presenting my boss with the initiatives to find new things for me to do that get me outside of my daily humdrum box.  I’m highly educated and quite gifted in certain areas and it’s high time I start proving it.

Leave a comment