Quarter Century Goal Setting.

October 25, 2010

Ok, in May of 2011 I will be 25.  It’s getting closer and closer.  It’s the next major age-related milestone in my life.

I’ve never been a goal setting kind of person.  I generally aim high and hit my target nearly every time, but this is my personality.  It’s not something that I’ve ever had to work at, so I typically don’t consider it goal setting.  I blame it on being so darn stubborn.

Anyhow, I’ve seen over and over when people make lists like these and I thought I’d give it a shot.  Other than at work this is the first time I’ve ever written down typed out any of my goals.

Now, I only have about 7 months to accomplish this list, so these goals might seem a little superficial in some ways–and yes, I’ve already accomplished a couple of them or am almost there, but they’re a big deal to me right now!  So, here’s my first attempt at setting some goals for myself and applying some (gasp!) limitations.  Maybe I’ll dream up a prize for myself if I actually stick to all of this and get it done.  Me and limitations are not always the best of friends!

I plan on updating this page as I go along and complete these things.  I’m sure I’ll make update posts, too!  For now, read on and see what I’ve already accomplished and what I’m planning to do next!

Here goes:

1. Complete master’s degree. Completed on August 25, 2010!!  I officially am a Master in Leadership and Management!
2. Apply to doctoral program. Beginning November 1, 2010, I will be attending Northcentral University to obtain my PhD in Business Administration with an emphasis in Management.
3. Refinance house so that all debt is on one mortgage (instead of two).
4. Get down to ONE car payment.
5. Purchase life insurance policy for both Mr. & Mrs. Windows. Done!  We’re both heavily insured and saving for our retirement now!
6. Sell the Gilbert House.
7. Finish blogging about the remodel on the ugly house.
8. Take Ralphie and Andre for walk at the downtown riverwalk.
9. Lose weight.  I’m good with any amount, even if it’s just a pound.
10. Visit family in the South.
11. Clean up my office (seriously, it’s tornadic in there).
12. Develop a monthly budget and stick to it.  Halfway there on this one!  I’ve made the budget and so far so good!
13. Hug Mr. Windows everyday for a month (believe it or not, I hate am extrememly uncomfortable with hugging people!).
14. Try a new church.
15. Finish cleaning out the garage so that a car will fit in it.
16. Seek out greater opportunities at work.
17. Make the bed everyday for a week.
18. Hook laptop up to gigantic TV/monitor in office and sit on loveseat to work.
19. Figure out how to get a nifty background on this here blog.
20. Don’t crash new computer (seriously, if this were a job, I’d be rich because I’m SO good at killing computers).
21. Get out the Writer’s, Inc. book and learn something new about the english language.
22. Go to the YMCA everyday for a month.
23. Eat at a vegetarian restaurant.
24. Organize hallway linen closet.
25. Quit baking cakes…at least while I’m in school. I officially retired from cake baking with the exclusion of cupcakes. Piece-A-Cake Confections is now solely providing cupcakes!

So, there you have it!  My 25 by 25.  I’m making a good start here…here’s hoping I can make an even better finish!

2 Responses to “Quarter Century Goal Setting.”

  1. Natalie Says:

    These are great goals! I totally didn’t get anything done on my “to do before 25” list because of graduate school, so I am so impressed and jealous that you are already done! What do you want to do with it? I’m in an MBA program right now.

    Anyway, I’ve decided that I have a to do while I’m 25 list instead. 🙂


  2. […] of my goals of my 25-by-25 is to make this blog a little more […]


Leave a Reply

