Mr. Crackalackin

October 8, 2010

Well, I’m short on conversational topics today, so how about a picture?

Or a bunch of pictures.

This is my “wedding day look”.  My hair, my shoes, my veil, my dress, my everything. 

The most important photo in this collage?  The photo of my dad walking me down the aisle.

My dad is biologically not my father.  He’s been married to my mother since I was 4-years-old.  Although not every day spent as my dad has been a great one, he’s always been there for me.  I call him any time I need advice or help.  He’s not perfect, but I’d never want him to be.  I’ve learned just as much from his mistakes as I have my own. 

As I’ve matured, I’ve noticed that he respects me more.  He even asks for my advice sometimes (even if only about what brand of TV to buy–it still counts!). 

My wedding day was the solidification of nearly 20 years of our relationship.  The days since that day have been filled with hundreds of laughs and have filled my heart.

Without my dad, I wouldn’t have a driveway or my first love–my stealth.  I wouldn’t have early morning text messages saying, “Yo, what’s crackalackin?” or “Yo quiero taco bell…ok, El Chile Verde” (which translates to my dad being silly with his spanish…and not really wanting taco bell or El Chile Verde). 

Without my dad I wouldn’t be who I am.  I wouldn’t laugh as much.  I wouldn’t work as hard.  I’d know a lot less.  I’d have made many, many more mistakes.

I can’t even tell you enough how glad I am that he is my dad.

P.S. On Monday I promise I’ll have something exciting to talk about–like my FIXED driveway!!

Leave a Reply

