May my broken driveway rest in peace.

September 16, 2010

Alright, folks, this is what it looks like to have a back hoe dig up your yard and replace the broken, misshapen clay pipes with PVC.

Look!  My driveway is still intact!

This tree was not the root (pun intended) of our plumbing issues…however, it is in dire need of a good trim!!

Driveway: still intact…

Grief!!  My driveway!!!  😦

*sigh* There’s a 2.5’x16′ gaping hole in my driveway right now.  But at least we can flush the potty and do laundry!!

Dirt, dirt everywhere!

NEW plumbing!!  Including a new “clean out” for when kids flush their stuffed animals or some crazy person gets carried away with the TP…or in 75 years when the plastic has out-lived us all, but has seen better days.  Nonetheless, I’m sure someone, somewhere will thank us for it later.

This is a picture of some of the old broken pipe.  Rumor has it that it came out of the ground this way.  I’m no rocket scientist plumber, but this doesn’t look like it was doing a very good job.  In fact, it looks like it failed at its job quite a while ago.

For serious, that’s a LONG ways down, y’all!!  Mr. Windows said it was more than 8 feet.  Yikes.

This is what I came home to.  I was not. happy.  Seriously, the highest point of this mountainous terrain is higher than my waist!!  For the love of pete, it looks like one massive disaster.

And this makes me sad.   Not only is there a hole, it’s freaking dirty!!  I guess that’s to be expected, though.

So. Much. Dirt!

And not even an hour after I took all of these pictures, this happened:

Torrential downpour!!!  It’s good for settling the mountain of dirt, but Mother Nature decided to throw in some hail for good measure….

See, lots-o-hail!!

By the way, that tree in the back IS the root of all plumbing evil!  The clay pipes didn’t stand a chance to the powers of it’s roots.  But guess what?  PVC never dies!  At least I hope….

All in all, this has been an interesting experience to say the least.  The driveway will be fixed, we’ll flush the potty as often as we want to, and even though we’re $1630 poorer, at least we don’t have to wake up dreading our morning showers anymore!

Oh, and I should mention that our humble abode officially has 100% new plumbing.  Not many 60+-year-old houses can say the same!

One Response to “May my broken driveway rest in peace.”

  1. Emily Says:

    oh my goodness…this sounds exactly like what just happened to my house. that is rough, but i am glad it’s fixed now!!


Leave a Reply

