The Gurgle.

September 9, 2010

Well, it’s time.

We’ve been putting it off for two years.

See, when we bought the ugly house we knew there was a plumbing issue because my home inspector (aka my dad) informed us that the plumbing under the house wasn’t hooked up to the potty.  No bueno! 

This is another reason added to the list of why we waited 15 months before we moved into the ugly house.

Once the bathroom was remodeled from this:

To this:

We thought we’d solved the problem.

Then one day when I was in the shower I heard a gurgling noise coming from the potty.  I’m no plumber, but I knew this wasn’t a sound I should be hearing–especially when the potty was sitting all by its lonesome.

It turns out that the entire reason the plumbing was disconnected in the first place is because the main sewer line is so infested with tree roots (we have some big trees in our yard, y’all) that it had caused the main line to be disconnected in at least one very important area–where the line curves off and heads to its final destination (wherever that is).

Luckily we have a clean out in the front yard so we haven’t had anything “back up” into the house other than some air bubbles, but it’s still something that has haunted me since I first heard the gurgling.

Here’s the biggest dilemma.  Remember my driveway??

Our main line runs underneath it. 

There’s a chance that our driveway will have to come out to be able to replace the broken line because the line is disconnected about 2 feet away from the north side of our driveway. 

This house has yet to surprise me, but it’s still very disheartening. 

We’re in the process of getting bids on having the work done.  So for now every morning when I  take a shower I get to listen to my potty blow air bubbles and remind me that my house is a never-ending project.

One Response to “The Gurgle.”


  1. […] September 15, 2010 The verdict is in: the driveway is getting taken out in order to fix the gurgle. […]


Leave a Reply

