I Bake. A Lot.

September 8, 2010

Most of you who read this are my FoF (friend on facebook), so you already know this.  But some of you don’t fall into that category.  And it’s fun to talk about cake.

So, early on in my adult life I decided I’m pretty good with the oven.  Frankly, in the beginning I wasn’t–I’ve had a lot of chances to perfect my trials with the oven, though! 

To this day I’ve made probably at least 50 wedding cakes and several other random cakes for whatever occasion.  I’m a cake hobbyist.

Baking is chemistry.  You have to mix the cake batter just right, with just the right amount of ingredients, and bake it at a certain temperature for a certain amount of time.  It’s the most scientific thing I’ve done in my entire life.

The icing is the part that people rave about.  My recipe isn’t a secret, but I don’t usually give it out largely because it’s a lot of work and it’s something that if you don’t do just right it won’t turn out the same (and I hate leaving people disappointed!).

Sometimes I make marshmallow fondant.  THAT, my friends, is a chore.

 Sometimes (especially if it’s black or red), I use Satin Ice fondant.  It tastes like sugary play dough to me, but it makes for a beautiful finish. 

Speaking of black and red, I don’t make those colors at all.  Not even in butter cream.  I don’t have the patience or the desire. 

I might not be much of a photographer, but I can make camo fondant!

I can even make a flower out of fondant.

And anything that sparkles is REALLY high on my favorites list!

In case you’re wondering, the cake I bake tastes pretty good, too. 

**all cakes baked by me!  Pictures of my wedding cake (the blue one and the front of the penguin) were taken by Kevin Brown.  The rear side of the penguin was taken by MIL windows.  All other craptastic photos were taken by me.

Leave a Reply

