Our House Was A Repo:Part 1

September 1, 2010

FYI: In this series I will tell you how much we paid for our house…if you don’t want to know, feel free to stop reading now.

I pinpointed our house on a local real estate website.  It was listed for $40,000 and looked ok enough.

At the time I didn’t know the home was a repo…I just knew it was cheap and what we were looking for.  It had adequate space, a decent location, and the price just couldn’t be beat.

After hemming and hawing for about 5 minutes, I called our agent to set up a showing.  She returned my call and informed me that the home was a repo and we could take a look at it anytime because she had the “universal key”–apparently all HUD repos get rekeyed to the universal key once they take possession.

So, we went that afternoon and took a look at this house.

Dear Lord it was hideous and the smell was toxic.  The bathroom made my skin crawl, the washer and dryer hook up had me super confused, and nearly every door jab in the house had been clawed by some sort of animal so badly that they were almost unrecognizable (not to mention the doors wouldn’t close).

We spent about 2 minutes inside the house and ventured outside to take some deep breaths.

This is where I fell in love with this ugly, smelly house.

While we were outside two little old ladies popped their curly heads over the fence and said “Y’all gonna buy this house?!”

I was sold.  I was ready to sign.  Get me the paperwork!

Why is that such a big deal?  Well, in the three years prior that I’d owned and lived in the Gilbert House, I’d not met one single neighbor.  NOT ONE!  No one had come over to borrow sugar, tell me to shut my dog up, or even to steal my mail.  I craved some sort of neighborly interaction and within the first 10 minutes of being at this new house I had already met two of the neighbors. 

From that moment on the ugly orange brick house became home to me. 

Then my agent informed me that we couldn’t just buy it….we had to bid for the house–what?!?!

Leave a Reply

