I never said it enough..

August 23, 2010

This is a tribute to my grandfather whom passed away on Sunday, August 22, 2010.

I’ve said before that I’m not ok with death.  It just doesn’t settle well within my heart.

This time was different.  Grandpa was ready.  His peace with his fate allowed me (and hopefully some of my rather large family) to cry fewer tears, hurt a little less, and do my absolute best to remember him with all smiles and his “galdangit” good time havin’ self.

I’ve not met a man with stronger convictions.  Being a father to 14 children takes a certain kind of man.  My grandpa was the man for the job.  His entire adulthood was spent working day in and day out to support his family and not a Sunday went by that his little church in his little town didn’t see his face.

He spent his last years caring for my grandma who has a bad case of Alzheimer’s.  Even though he was always lonely, he did what was best for her and put her in a care home so that she’d have what she needed.

My mother is his oldest living daughter (Rest in peace, Aunt Marilyn).  She’s the greatest person I know.  I’d like to think he’s a big part of who she is.

As a child I remember my grandpa chasing me with his “finger spider”–middle finger straight out, two fingers on each side supporting it, acting as legs.  I’d run screaming from the silly thing and he’d giggle and laugh and slap his knee–no other person in the world would ever be able to get such joy out of this!

On my wedding day he hugged me and told me how proud of me he was.  Having him pose with me for pictures and sit next to my other grandpa and just be there on that day made me happier than I can even express.  I’ve been so lucky to be able to share that experience with him.

I never told him enough that I loved him and enjoyed spending time with him.  His laugh roars on in my memories.  His love and adoration for his family lives on in my memories.  His faith in God never faltered and I know that today he is sitting up there proving just how awesome faith in God truly is.

Man, I’m going to miss him.

Rest now, Grandpa, you’ve earned it.  I love you.

In loving memory of Leo Gerber.

Leave a Reply

