The Great Pillow Hunt.

August 13, 2010

In my last post, I showed you our new bedroom.  I also showed you this:

and more specifically, this:

You think I was nutso over that Zocalo furniture?!  That furniture didn’t hold a candle to my desire to have this pillow.  This yellow pillow was the bane of my existence.  I needed it more than air (or at least that’s how I felt).  I Googled my heart out and couldn’t get my hands on it.

The original link (an Oprah website) told me Target sold it.  Well, apparently not when  I wanted it!!

For a good couple of months I hemmed and hawed over this pillow.  I just felt like my life wouldn’t be complete without it (yes, it’s that dramatic!).  I ended up finding similar pillows at ZGallerie, but they weren’t the right color.  It. Had. To. Be. Yellow.

So, I filled MIL Windows in on my need for yellow throw pillows for the bedroom.  Being the amazing woman she is, she completely supported me in what became the greatest pillow hunt of all time.

I looked online for months, I looked in every store I step foot in that sold pillows, and I dreamt of yellow pillows on a regular basis.  One weekend while we were in the North visiting Windows-in-law, I asked if we could visit a certain enormous furniture store since at the time we were still looking for anything that might top  the Phoenix Collection.  So, we went!

After spending at least 3 hours looking at furniture, rugs, and everything in between, we ventured down the stairs to the “contemporary furniture” area.  I was feeling a little defeated because I hadn’t found a single thing I wanted to even consider buying (I mean, this is the store many, many people buy their furniture from).

MIL Windows stepped away from the hunt to go find SIL Windows (whom we’d left in a massage chair a good hour earlier) when I stumbled across the greatest find of all.

Two mustard yellow, graphically patterned throw pillows.

I think my heart fell out of my chest.

I didn’t look at price tags, I didn’t even blink.  Within a nano second I was holding onto two yellow pillows like my life depended on it. 

The only sad part of this situation is I had to celebrate on my own until MIL Windows made it back.  I was the only person in the area and that might’ve been a good thing because I think there was some dancing and even some screaming.  I was elated.

When MIL Windows found me (she followed the screaming), and saw what I was hugging, she did a dance and some screaming, too!!

I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I was.

But it gets better.

The yellow pillow in this picture was only $6.  SIX DOLLARS!  You can’t even get a throw pillow at Wal-Mart for six bucks!

So, there you have it.  The pillow hunt that had the happiest ending of all. 

I’d also like to mention that the original pillows I lusted after pale in comparison to my $6 square-patterned mustard pillows.  I love them so much I almost forgot the originals.  Almost.

Leave a Reply

