Ambitious

August 5, 2010

I opened one of my 800+ Harvard Business Review e-mails this morning to find a very irritating intruiging question: Do women lack ambition?

Excuse me?  Am I the only person that is put off by comments and questions that are entirely gender biased?  I’m assuming I’m not…

The e-mail goes on to say that women associate ambition with egotism and manipulation while men find ambition to be equal to some sort of testosterone level and therefore a necessary addition to their overall life strategy. 

I suppose conventional wisdom would lead me to believe this to be true.

However, I’m not always a huge fan of conventional wisdom. Some of the most ambitious people I know are women.  I happen to be one of them.  In fact, I’m so damn ambitious that I often encourage other people to be ambitious.  Case in point: my husband.  He’s been accepted into a master’s degree program and I’m positive that my poking and prodding are about 90% of the reason why he applied (and I did most of the leg work for him…he just had to sign his name).

So, in the name of conventional wisdom, does that make me an egotistical maniac because I’m an ambitious woman?  I guess so.

But guess what?  I don’t care.

Leave a Reply

