When Tragedy Strikes.

June 24, 2010

This is something that has been weighing heavily on my heart. 

I’ve never been good at accepting death (is anyone?!).  I know that I’m just not comfortable with the idea of the morbid finality of death.  Not that our afterlife isn’t going to be one amazing place to be, but because definites and endings have never been my forte.  I don’t like things to end.  Especially lives because there’s NO way to get that back–although I’m sure there’s a good reason for that.

On March 13 of 2006, one of my dear family friends was murdered.  After four years I still cry when I think about it.

So, I’m not ok with these situations.

Today I’m going to a funeral.  For the first time in my life I’m seeing a person’s death as a sweet goodbye.  Robert Bob Clark was 19-years-old and lived every day of his life with a disease called Cystic Fibrosis.  For his entire life he had  to deal with having this disease and all of the pitfalls that come with it.  While Little Bob was waiting for a lung transplant, the disease ended his short life.  Normally I would be wrought with agony over this.  However, my heart is at peace knowing that he is finally free from the suffering.

It’s a bittersweet ending.

The agony I feel is for his parents and his younger brother (who consequently also suffers from cystic fibrosis) who are left behind to grieve for him.  I hope and pray that their hearts are light and at peace and that they find some sort of relief in this grave situation.

I know it’s the circle of life and this is just how things are.  I’ve watched the Lion King enough times to know that (The Lion King was my all time least favorite Disney movie…why?  Because of Mufasa’s death.  Yep.  Even at 8-years-old I had these feelings) death happens and it happens for a reason.  However, I hope I never change when it comes to how I react to deaths.  Sometimes  the only way to really learn how to appreciate life is to experience the grief of death.

Rest in peace, Little Bob.  I’m glad you’re finally free.

Leave a Reply

